More RD Stories

Here’s one from personal experience, together with one that Lou Scanlon, currently the COP of Coronado, shared with me last week.

R D and I were roomies some time around the late 1970s and early 1980s. One evening, he came home from working one of his plain clothes assignments and said it had been quite a while since he’d been in trouble and was feeling pretty good about his chances to stay in investigations. He then proceeded to give me his uniforms and told me to take them from his closet. Two days later, he came home and said, “Hey Timmy, remember them uniforms I gave you? Put them back in my closet.” I’m not sure what he did to get in trouble that time but he was working western patrol the next day.

Lou Scanlon told me that, on the day Lou reported to Western Division as the commanding officer, RD met him at the door to the station, holding a pad of paper. RD told Lou, “I’m glad you’re here, Captain. I’ve been waiting for you. Here’s a list of all the people you’ll need to watch out for.” Then he handed Lou the paper with a list of all the “straight shooters” in the division, the guys who carried bibles in their cars and never got in trouble a day in their careers.

Leave a Reply

